Skyfall

I’ve been waiting for the latest Bond flick for several months now. I’ve also been hoping it would be better than the last (Quantum of Solace). I can honestly say that Skyfall is one of the best Bond movies ever. And I’ve seen them all. This doesn’t mean it was without fault.

The number one complaint I hear about Skyfall is that it doesn’t have the typical, frenetic, Bond movie pace. That is a true statement. It is more of a thinking man’s Bond than previous movies. I think that’s due in large part to the influence of director Sam Mendes and the plot itself. There were two, maybe three places in the movie where it got to be a bit too much plot and too little action. I think had the movie shaved off say, 12 minutes it would have been just about perfect. Having said that, I think the action sequences were creative, well thought out and if not strictly adhering to the laws of physics, well it’s a Bond movie, so we don’t expect it to anyway.

I really want to tell you about the plot of Skyfall but I want you to be as pleasantly surprised as I am by it, so I’m going to steer clear of the plot so I don’t spoil any of the fun for you.

Some really great things in the movie. The writing. I’m not sure who wrote this one and I’m not going to check on imdb either (I’m supposed to be working at my day job right now) but they wrote a fantastic script. The Komodo dragon touch was a fabulous example of lifelike CG work, so kudos to the team responsible for that. The nuanced acting was probably what pushed this Bond flick to stand above the others. Daniel Craig delivered a performance of a subtly broken, struggling-to-hold-it-together James Bond that we’ve never seen before. It’s amazing to me how much acting he does simply through facial expression. Dame Judi Dench is incomparable, enough said. The new Q (played by Ben Wishaw) is adorable and a wonderful foil for Bond in way completely different from that of the old Q (and a big improvement over John Cleese who just didn’t fit in). Javier Bardem plays an absolutely brilliant sociopath. I cannot emphasize that enough. He was both evil genius and lunatic, carefully balancing the two on the edge of a thin dime. I could have done without the icky blond wig, but I mostly forgot about it his performance was so good. So often it’s the villains that make Bond movies so entertaining, and Bardem is officially leading the pack in that arena. Finally, Ralph Finnes makes his entrance into the franchise as civilian oversight of MI6. Even after playing a character as recognizable the world over as Voldemort, Finnes is not defined by the role; he’s easily capable of convincing the audience he’s whoever he chooses to portray. He’s very lucky that way – or just that good.

Skyfall was a throwback to classic Bond in many ways, some were subtle jokes (about the exploding pen among others) and others more obvious – the 50 year old Astin Martin from Goldfinger (?) that drew an audible response from the crowd. These throwbacks were in complete opposition of the plot line which is all about how evil and destructive technology can be in the wrong hands.

My advice? Bond turned 50 this year and he’s never been better. Get out to Skyfall this weekend and if you’ve got the money to burn, shell out the extra to see it in IMAX.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on November 16, 2012.

2 Responses to “Skyfall”

  1. hello…

    I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting.

Leave a Reply

 
