THE DEVIL COLONY by James Rollins

Have you read The Devil Colony by James Rollins? Mummified bodies, Indians, curses, legendary/sci-fi-reminiscent technology, Sigma operatives in harm’s way, intrigue, a trip to Fort Knox and of course the Guild is back again in this fantastic adventure where history meets fiction. What’s not to love?

With a big certification exam coming up I haven’t had much time to read, but when I’ve had spare moments James Rollins’ The Devil Colony captured my absolute attention. This is the kind of book you don’t want to put down; the kind of book you might lose sleep over or even call in to work “sick” for because you stayed up all night to finish it.

The pace is great and the book just keeps on building. Just when you think it’s over and you’re coming down there’s – spoiler alert! – one last thrill. At the end of the book you’ll find (should you wish to disillusion yourself) a brief section from Rollins detailing which pieces of information are true. I enjoy this part almost as much as the story because it’s like guessing who-done-it, it’s a mystery. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Rollin’s does a fantastic job merging fact and fiction.

Another point in his favour: he’s responsive. After I emailed him to let him know that I’d read and reviewed Blood Line, he actually took the time to write me back. And not just a standard thanks for being a fan email either. It’s an advantage of the electronic age in that fan mail reaches the target much easier and they can respond much easier while still remaining anonymous and removed from the fan.

On a non-opinion note, my exam is this weekend, so I should return to my weekly posting schedule very quickly. Thanks to my readers for their patience and continued visits.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on November 6, 2012.

2 Responses to “THE DEVIL COLONY by James Rollins”

  1. U have a awesome website over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting information on it. I’ll follow your site if you keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

 
