Criminal Minds Season 8 Premiere

Human beings don’t like change as a rule and Criminal Minds (or rather their network) has given us two changes this year: a new night and a replacement for Prentiss. Let me just say that since they’ve insisted on changing the night, I’ll probably make use of my new PVR each week and then watch it on Wednesdays (sans commercials) but I couldn’t wait this week because I needed a Matthew Gray Gubler fix.

In typical Criminal Minds fashion, we get just a smidge of the personal before diving right into a case. The essential mystery of the characters is something I’ve enjoyed over the years, and on the other side of the coin, I get great satisfaction from gleaning the little personal pieces of each character that long-time viewers of the show get rewarded with.

We knew it was coming and that it would happen in the premiere. Alex Blake (Jeanne Tripplehorn) has replaced Prentiss. She has a longstanding relationship with Reid and has worked some cases with the team already. Morgan and Garcia have just returned home from London and thus we get to go through our growing pains of getting to know the newest member of the BAU team with them. She’s not Strauss’ biggest fan and I can’t help but wonder if it was deliberately designed that way to get viewers on her side (there aren’t a lot of Strauss fans out there). Also, note that Tripplehorn is in the opening credits so they’re pretty confident in her reception. Which means we’ll just have to get used to her. I am trying to reserve judgement but I’m not sure that I’ll ever like her. Of course it’s a language-related case to introduce us to the new Prentiss, but how usefull will Blake be going forward? Does she have other skills?

Oh Matthew Gray Gubler I’ve missed you – I also miss your shorter, hotter hair cut though. Just sayin’.

A guy who never speaks – more than a little creepy already – and silences victims by sewing their mouths shut is really sick. I wonder where the writers get their ideas.

I love how sweet and understanding Morgan is with Garcia, almost as much as I love Garcia’s jealousy. It’s so them.

Oh yea! I forgot all about this! For the first time in Criminal Minds history they are going to have an unsub that tracks across the whole season. I’m so excited to see how this turns out.

I definitely want to hear from fans; how do you feel about Alex Blake and what do you think of the season-long unsub our team is going to be facing?

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on September 26, 2012.

2 Responses to “Criminal Minds Season 8 Premiere”

  1. I really do not understand the choice they made. I find Alex dull, boring and without any personality. I really love this show and have watched it since it first started. I hope they replace her, or give her more character.

    • Thanks for your comment Cheryl. I also don’t find her much of an addition to the team. I’m trying to give her the benefit of the doubt but it’s very hard. Alex has big shoes to fill and so far she’s fallen short. I almost think they’d have done better to simply leave an empty place where Prentiss had been.

Leave a Reply

 
