The Dark Knight Rises

Last night I finally went to see The Dark Knight Rocks Rises. I giggled, I cringed when Bane broke Batman’s back and I cried at the end. So if I was forced to give a yes or no answer, I would say yes it was a good movie. Yes I used the word finally when the movie has only been open for barely a week. But I’ve been waiting for months to see it. Which leads me of course to a little problem of hype. The movie has been hyped by advertizing and the press and it’s also been hyped in my own mind. So much so that as the lights dimmed in the theatre, I found myself praying to the movie gods that I wouldn’t be completely let down. Oh, I should mention that I’m going to do my best not to spoil the movie for you, but if you haven’t seen TDKR yet, you might want to bookmark this page and wait to read my review until you get to your nearest theatre. You can go to TDKR without fear; I was absolutely NOT let down and neither will you be when you go to see The Dark Knight Rises. Christopher Nolan is incredibly talented. If you’ve never seen his movies, you really ought to. Because Nolan puts thought into his scripts, the movie starts out a little slowly. I was fidgeting a little in my seat wanting the action to start before I realized that it was my own sense of urgency that was robbing me of the pleasure of enjoying the build up of TDKR as it was intended to be. After that I was able to relax and just enjoy the ride.

The worst part of the movie for me was Bane’s voice. Don’t get me wrong, Tom Hardy did a spectacular job with the role but I found – likely due to the mask – that it was sometimes quite difficult to understand what he was saying and his voice is quite incongruous with his size and menacing demeanour. No doubt this was done on purpose.

Most surprising? Two things (characters really). The first is Anne Hathaway’s Catwoman. I was really hoping she didn’t suck at it because she’s very talented, but I was afraid she’d been miscast because she’s never done anything so physical before. I’m relieved to say she blew away my expectations with her portrayal of a more human, fallible Selina Kyle/Catwoman. The second surprising character was Joseph Gordon-Levitt (yes, the kid from 3rd Rock from the Sun) as Officer Blake. He played the role with a mix of gravitas and spunk that just really worked for the character and has now landed him on my freebie five list. I’ve come to realize after seeing the last couple of movies he’s done that he’s very talented and I quite enjoy watching him.

Christian Bale puts in the kind of performance I expect from him. With him it’s all or nothing (and I’ve yet to see him in a role where he delivers “nothing”). His Batman was fragile, human, determined and very, very angry. I must tip my hat to him because I never cared for the Batman franchise before Bale came along.

Michael Caine turns in another fantastic, understated performance as faithful butler Alfred. When he and Bruce Wayne part ways my heart actually ached.

The powers that be did a great job keeping certain plot elements under wrap. Most specifically I’m talking about Liam Neeson who briefly reprised his role as Ra’s Al Ghul. It was only a whisper of a rumour that got louder, but until the film was released, no one seemed to know for sure if it was true.

One of the best things about TDKR is its sense of continuity. Because Nolan has helmed the film from the beginning and because he had a three-movie story arc in mind, it really comes together. They use one or two short clips from previous films and for me, the most moving one comes near the end – yes I’m about to give you a spoiler so skip to the next paragraph if you don’t want to hear about it – when Batman tells Gordon who he is by referencing the first time they met: Gordon places his coat around young Bruce Wayne’s shoulders and then as Batman flies away to certain death, Gordon at last knows who his partner has been all these years. It’s very moving and the nuance with which Gary Oldman plays that one little scene was enough to make my eyes tear up.

The last twenty minutes of the movie are emotionally charged and very intense. The pace of the movie just pulls you inexorably and you’re caught up in the whirlwind of Gotham City’s reality and there’s nothing you can do but ride the wave. Nolan does a terrific job resolving things in a way that will satisfy the comic book and general movie crowd while managing to hold onto the integrity of his vision and not fall in to the trap of delivering an overly trite ending. It hit all the right emotional and story notes, nicely closing off the tale while leaving a tiny window of opportunity open. And that’s all I can say about The Dark Knight Rises without giving away the farm.

After all that do I really need to tell you to go see it? Aren’t you already online purchasing your tickets?

 

And that’s my I-dragged-my-tired-butt-into-work-after-seeing-a-fantastic-movie 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on July 27, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Dark Knight Rises”

  1. Hey thanks you for the great info i love it thanks you so mucht.

Leave a Reply

 
