The Amazing Spiderman

Not my favourite superhero to begin with (because I’m terrified of spiders), I found myself talked into seeing The Amazing Spiderman. Was it really amazing though? Well, I can tell you that I was both amazed and disappointed.

Let’s do the amazing stuff first shall we? It’s the cast. The cast assembled for The Amazing Spiderman is superb. Andrew Garfield, who is head and shoulders above Tobey Maguire in the acting department, is capable of showing an astounding range of emotion on his young face. His chemistry with the very accomplished Emma Stone is undeniable. I’m a little confused as to why she’d choose this movie given her career path lately, but maybe she just wanted something easy that comes with a big paycheck. Aunt May and Uncle Ben are played by Sally Field and Martin Sheen respectively. It was a very unexpected casting choice if you ask me. Dennis Leary gave a solid (and even moving as he died) performance as the tough New York police captain. I’ve perhaps saved the best for last. Rhys Ifans has finally washed the icky taste that is Spike (his character from Notting Hill) out of my mouth for good. He gave an absolutely fantastic turn as the villain. Oh, and Stan Lee put in an appearance as a librarian.

So what wasn’t amazing about Spiderman? That’s easy. The action sequences. They were almost completely CGI, and I found them to be so unrealistic and just not as well done as I’d like to have seen for a movie with that kind of budget.

Final verdict? I think The Amazing Spiderman has done a great job at revitalizing the franchise for the next generation but if it’s all the same, I’ll opt out of further movies.

Coming soon: The Dark Knight Rises, followed quickly by my review of the same.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on July 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Amazing Spiderman”

  1. Good Morning, I just stopped by to visit your site and thought I’d say I had a great visit.

Leave a Reply

 
