The Avengers

My plan for a quiet night in last night was foiled by pizza and The Avengers…yes, I know, poor me. Shall I start with what I didn’t like about the movie? Who is the villain at the end? Help me out comic geeks; the guy I saw the movie with wasn’t sure either. What was the chick from How I Met Your Mother doing in the movie? That was oddly jarring for me. Ok, well, that was quick.

What did I like? Well, that will take a little longer and I apologize in advance for any spoilers if you’re one of the three people that haven’t seen it yet. Joss Whedon (of Buffy the Vampire and Serenity/Firefly fame) helmed the movie and I admit I was a little leery about it. Calm down Joss Whedon freaks! I’m not maligning the guy. You’ve heard about people who were poor and win the lottery and just blow it all right? Well I was worried that given such a huge budget, Whedon might not know what to do with it all and so wouldn’t spend it all that wisely. But I was wrong and I can admit it. I’m glad I was wrong. I think he did a superb job and I’ll go see another comic book/hero movie, or anything big budget he chooses to do, without any reservations in the future.

Let’s quickly talk about the hype. I was seriously excited for The Avengers; I haven’t been this excited about a comic book movie since the end of X2 when I was promised the Phoenix (and was later disappointed). Naturally I was afraid that because of all this hype I would be let down. But I wasn’t disappointed for a single minute of the movie.

The story made sense (in the Marvel universe) and the plot moved along at a very good pace. The action sequences were spectacular and followed by just enough down time for your eyes to recover and get ready for the next visual assault. Excellent job on the screen play and in directing. Also, the effects were incredibly well done. Those weird beasty things that were flying through the air as if it was water were especially good.

Not that I doubted it for a second, but the acting in The Avengers was superb. I’m going to address them all, in no particular order.

The incomparable Robert Downey Junior. I would watch him read a grocery list. I don’t care what he’s doing; the guy is just that good. Enough said, but I’m going to go on anyway. RDJ by far had the best lines in the movie and his delivery of them was just hysterical. My favourite was probably when he referred to Loki as “Reindeer Games”. I actually choked on my drink.

Samuel L. Jackson, who incidentally of all of them has the highest box office gross (thanks to the Star Wars franchise), is excellent as Nick Fury. Some people might have a problem with him because in the comic Fury is obviously of a different background but to them I say not nice things.

Scarlett Johansson as a super spy/assassin, I thought would be a bit ludicrous but she surprised me again and did a spot on job. Why am I surprised though? She’s consistently very good at what she does. Other actresses have complained about the phenomenon of being cursed with lower expectations and such because they’re so gorgeous but in Scarlett’s case, I think it’s actually true. She often doesn’t get the credit she deserves, so I’m going to give it to her.

Jeremy Renner. This is a guy who when I hear press about him or see pictures of him at a premiere I go, yeah he’s decent looking but he’s kinda short and so I think meh. But when he’s in a movie (first in Ghost Protocol and now in The Avengers) something changes. He suddenly becomes this really attractive guy who seems to be certainly tall enough and can take on whatever is asked of him.

I love Mark Ruffalo, but of all of the cast, he was the one I worried about most because I just thought, The Hulk? Really? I just didn’t see him the role, but he did an excellent, more mature Bruce Banner and of course Lou Ferrigno voiced him when he’s hulked out (because he always does). During the mega battle at the climax of the movie, Hulk, who has just flipped Loki around like he’s a rag doll and not a god (as claimed by Loki just before Hulk snaps him up by the foot) proclaims “Puny God” and the entire theatre burst out laughing.

I don’t know much about Tom Hiddleston, who played Loki but he’s very clearly a Shakespearean trained actor who used those skills to his advantage in playing the black sheep demi-god from Asgard. Although I have to say, he’s much more attractive without the mullet ladies.

Chris Hemsworth, who burst on the scene in 2009 as Kirk’s father in the Star Trek reboot reprised his role as Thor (which I really need to see) the brother of Loki. Not bad. A little stilted but as a demi-god reduced to working with mere humans I guess that’s to be expected. I just went to his IMDB page so I could link it for you and damn if I wasn’t skewered by his eyes. Bet that’s what first caught his wife’s eye.

A bulked up Chris Evans plays Captain America again (another movie I’ve yet to see) and does it with much more subtlety, class and maturity then I would have expected from him based on his performance in movies like the Fantastic 4 franchise. More than just a pretty face; nicely done Chris.

I know there are other actors in the movie, like the guy who played Agent Coulson and excellent Paul Bettany who returns to voice Jarvis, but I’ve already run on longer than I meant to and I think you get the point. Pony up the money and go see The Avengers already. It’s two plus hours of absolute enjoyment.

I don’t want to give too much of the movie away, but I hope this encourages you to go see The Avengers if you haven’t. And if you have seen it, you know I want to know what you thought. The next movie I’m dying to see? The Dark Knight Rises of course.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on May 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Avengers”

  1. Good blog, there is no doubt that The Avengers is a fantastic film and all round achievement for everybody involved and I thought the cast, Johansson and Ruffalo in particular were very impressive.
    That guy at the end, mid credits, is called Thanos. He is a pretty big time villain in the Marvel Universe. Look him up on Wikipedia to find out more, but if you knew he was, you would definitely be excited for the future of the Marvel films.

Leave a Reply

 
