Game of Thrones Season 2 Episode 4

It’s a bit late, but for those who were waiting for it, here I am catching you up with what happened in episode 4 the day before episode 5 airs…hey, gimme a break. It’s been a busy week. First of all, I should mention that things are happening in a different order than they did in the book (A Clash of Kings) but that’s not really an issue because Martin himself has said that the book doesn’t follow a strictly linear timeline, rather that things are happening in different parts of the Seven Kingdoms simultaneously. I’ll get to the plot in a bit, but first I want to talk specifically about the character of Tyrion Lannister and of the actor who plays him (Peter Dinklage for those who didn’t know).

The character of Tyrion Lannister is the kind of nuanced character that actors dream of playing at least once in their lifetimes, and Peter Dinklage is taking Tyrion and bringing him to life even better than I – and perhaps even George RR himself – could have ever hoped. Of Tyrion himself, if I were ever to meet him (yes I remember we’re talking about a fictitious character here) I would undoubtedly have to ask him what it’s like to be smarter than everyone else in the room. Having not read the final two books of the series (because they’re not yet published) I’m left wondering if that intelligence will be enough to see him alive when the game of thrones is at last decided once and for all.

What happened in this episode?

It ain’t shadows that spooked those horses, it’s Grey Wind. And in short order, another battle won for Robb Stark. SPOILER ALERT……Skip down to the word SAFE if you haven’t read the books…..Too bad for young Robb that a few battles won’t help him keep his head. SAFE. Can you imagine having your foot sawed off? Men, if you’d like to experience a similar pain to childbirth, this is probably close.

Scenes like Joffrey with his name day present from Tyrion are exactly why watching HBO program is not for the faint of heart, and it’s directly responsible for why two of my friends refuse to watch any of their programming. Thankfully, I’m made of sterner stuff although I was glad to be spared the sight of the whore with her head caved in. Again though, if HBO has a failing, it is their insistence on shoving in our faces the less than savoury sides of life.

And Danaerys’ little band have hope a mere three days each.

We get a wonderful glimpse of Harrenhall – or what’s left of it after dragons burned it out centuries ago as Arya, Gendry and the other prisoners are all marched in. One by one they’re being tortured by Gregor “The Mountain” Clegane and his men. It is their first night there that we first hear what I like to call Arya’s Lament. Listen carefully because over the books (and now seasons of the show) the names will change but her desire for justice never really leaves her.

Lord Baelish, the slime, proclaims he has loved Catelyn Stark all these years but that doesn’t keep him from making a distasteful advance moments before presenting Lady Stark with her husband’s bones nor does it prevent him from lying to her. Here viewers receive a small sop to their intelligence in that we are asked to infer the bones of Ned Stark are in the chest which Catelyn opens rather than being shown the bones.

I wonder if Melisandre’s part in coming events will remain the same or if she’ll be relegated to brood mare status – shouldn’t be long before we know for sure.

Don’t bluff khaleesi…lucky for her at least one of those merchants is curious enough about the possibility of dragons to side with the saucy Targaryen girl.

Oh the irony that Tywin Lannister saved the oldest surviving child of Robert Baratheon (note: this is a complete divergence from the book. Lord Bolton may not now make an appearance in the series, the younger one at least).

Poor Davos. He loyally served Stannis, even after the guy shortened all the fingers of one hand and for that fidelity, he is forced to witness the Red Witch’s magic. The poor guy looks absolutely terror stricken! Watch your ass Renly, something is coming for you!

Tomorrow is the next episode of Game of Thrones and I promise to do my best to get a review out to you sooner, but I can’t promise, because I’m at the mercy of a colleague who is getting me the episodes (for which he’s being paid in brownies) and midweek I’ll be rocking out at a Bryan Adams concert. I promise though that provided I get episode 5 before the weekend, I’ll have the review up for you before the sixth episode airs.

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on April 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “Game of Thrones Season 2 Episode 4”

  1. I was recommended this web site by way of my cousin. I am no longer sure whether or not this submit is written by way of him as no one else understand such designated approximately my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
