Lawrence Sanders – McNally’s Adventures

Lawrence Sanders was a very prolific author who died in the nineties. (Click here to visit his Wikipedia page.) He wrote crime/mystery novels and his best series in my opinion are the McNally books. (Note: After Sanders’ death, Vincent Lardo took over and wrote a few titles with the same characters. As copycats – and in this case I mean it in a nice way – go, he’s not bad, but still can’t equal the original.)

The McNally books, there were seven written before his death, are set in Palm Beach and feature the character Archy McNally, a mid to late 30s bachelor who still lives at home and after flunking out of law school took on Discreet Inquiries at his father’s law firm. They are humorous, self-deprecating, cleverly written mysteries that will provide hours of enjoyment and more than a few guffaws.

What I really love about Lawrence Sanders though is his use of words. I’ve said this with authors before, because when it happens, I believe it’s the mark of a truly gifted wordsmith. Sanders uses words not in the standard vernacular of the average person and it’s what sets his work and, in particular the character of Archy McNally, apart from other authors and detective series. Just try one and I bet you’ll be hooked. You don’t have to read the books in order as each is self contained, but I do recommend reading them that way because of the character development. So start with McNally’s Secret, if I can be so bold as to give marching orders to my readers and then let me know what you think.

Oh, and be sure to keep an eye out next week for an article about my week driving a Kia Soul.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on April 20, 2012.

One Response to “Lawrence Sanders – McNally’s Adventures”

  1. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

Leave a Reply

 
