The Hunger Games Hits Theatres

It’s fitting that my Hunger Games movie review comes out exactly one year after my book review of the same. Be prepared: The Hunger Games is not Harry Potter quality, neither source content, nor movie execution, but then again, you only get something like the Harry Potter novels once in a lifetime. Now that we’ve got that out of the way and I’ve appropriately reduced your expectations it should come as no surprise that The Hunger Games disappoints. I don’t believe the same opinion will be held by the tween audience they aimed the movie at, but I found it lacking in universal appeal. I found the acting to be just ok, with the notable exception of Stanley Tucci’s Caesar Flickerman, which was by far my favourite of the movie. Also, I don’t remember Seneca Crane (Wes Bentley) being – as yummy as the guy playing him – the head gamekeeper in book one. Maybe I’m misremembering but I’m pretty sure Crane took over in Catching Fire because the head gamekeeper was made to pay for the fact that the Capital had to crown two victors instead of one…am I wrong? And if they kill off Crane now, then who will be throwing around his influence and the power of his inside position to get Katniss and crew out in the next games? Also, I didn’t see Crane as quite this young; I saw him closer to 40 than 30, but I definitely approve of the choice of Bentley. He doesn’t get nearly enough exposure.

Perhaps my biggest complaint about The Hunger Games was the way it was filmed…jerky and amateurish. Yes I understand it for the action sequences, but it was jerky throughout much of the film. It actually gave me a headache before it was done. And if the first movie of the series is almost two and a half hours, how long will they be by the time we get to the final installment?

This isn’t about the movie, but I would quickly like to address some of the buzz I’ve been hearing regarding kids reading this “violent” series of books or being allowed to read and see this while not being able to see other things. First of all, does anyone remember reading The Lord of the Flies? That’s not exactly a Disney fairy tale, so enough said about the reading part. As for the movie thing, all I can say is that the violence portrayed in Bully is presumably real and that’s why I think it got the rating it did, but do I agree with children not being able to see it? Absolutely not. They see worse every day on the news and in the streets.

My recommendation? See The Hunger Games on cheap night, or better yet, (re)read the book!

 

And that’s my 2₵ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on April 5, 2012.

9 Responses to “The Hunger Games Hits Theatres”

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime soon. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  2. I am only writing to make you understand of the brilliant discovery my friend’s daughter enjoyed checking your web site. She figured out several pieces, which include how it is like to have an awesome teaching mindset to get most people without problems grasp chosen impossible issues. You truly did more than my expected results. Many thanks for imparting the insightful, healthy, revealing and as well as fun tips about the topic to Jane.

  3. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say you have done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

  5. Thank you so much for giving everyone an exceptionally terrific chance to read from this blog. It is always so awesome plus packed with a good time for me and my office co-workers to visit your blog no less than 3 times weekly to read the new guidance you have got. And indeed, I am certainly pleased considering the dazzling ideas you give. Selected two points in this post are truly the most beneficial we have all ever had.

    • Danke/Thanks for visiting and for sharing with your co-workers. Generally I try to post about once a week, although lately I have been lax since I’m studying for a major designation. I’ll be back to my regular posting schedule soon though, so please come back often.

Leave a Reply

 
