10TH ANNIVERSARY by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro

I finally got to the library and picked up James Patterson’s 10th Anniversary, a Women’s Murder Club book co-written with Maxine Paetro. Like the nine books before it, 10th Anniversary has short, quickly read chapters that make for an easy read and keep the pace feeling like the story is moving, even when it slows down. It’s one of the things I like most about Patterson’s style (its lightness makes for a nice contrast between some of my other oft-read authors) and it’s also the thing I dislike about his books because with chapters so short, I invariably stay up later saying just one more chapter to myself over and over. But that’s neither here nor there.

The anniversary indicated in the title is the anniversary Lindsay and Claire’s friendship. The book investigates the case of the missing baby of a 15 year old high school student and the re-investigation of a murder for which the accused is already on trial. 10th Anniversary also sees Lindsay Boxer finally marry Joe. The wedding was a small part of the story and took place right at the beginning of the book. For me, the relationships with men are secondary to the women’s relationships with each other and the cases that connect them, so that’s why I was happy to see the wedding dealt with it so matter of factly rather than it being the central thread of the novel. If I may be so bold (and when am I not?) I would offer one criticism of 10th Anniversary and it’s this: what’s with Lindsay’s sudden baby fever? It feels out of character for me and I don’t like it one bit.

Anyway, with this wonderful early spring weather – which we will pay for in the sweltering summer to come – you might consider Patterson’s 10th Anniversary as your next weekend read.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on March 27, 2012.

3 Responses to “10TH ANNIVERSARY by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro”

  1. Hello https://leslies2cents.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/10th-anniversary-by-james-patterson-maxine-paetro/ admin. I came to your “10TH ANNIVERSARY by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro Leslie's 2¢” page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I see you could have more visitors because there are not many comments on your website yet. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://www.linklegends.com/free-trial. They managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. I used their services and got significantly more visitors to my site. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care. Ashley

  2. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
