New Moxies at Courtneypark

The Moxies in Courtneypark (that’s in Mississauga Ontario for my international readers) opened last night and by happy accident I ended up there for dinner. Living in Calgary for six years, I was at Moxies at least once a month and I’ve missed it since coming back. If you’re new to the brand, I’d say they’re on a level with Milestones as far as price point and ambiance goes, but in my opinion both the food and the service are consistently better.

A typical trip to Moxies almost always included an order of Med Bread to share and a Bellini, which is an in-house special. If you’re new to Moxies, start with those and go from there. Click here to go to their website and find the Moxies closest to you or check out the menu.

I would make only two criticisms about my Moxies experience last night and they’re both small and personal. We were seated in the lounge area (I assume since it was the first night they weren’t seating people in the restaurant side unless it got busy enough) at a high top table by the window. I’m not sure if they’re experimenting with it or not, but we were only there a few minutes when I noticed the music volume went up significantly. It wasn’t quite club level loud, but for me, it was too loud, even taking into account we were on the lounge side of the restaurant because it made dinner conversation more difficult. My second criticism doesn’t apply to those who regularly order Pellegrino sparkling water or a bottle of filtered and are therefore accustomed to paying for water. Our waitress offered us the chance to try their new filtered water for $3.49 rather than just brining us tap water. She went on to explain that it’s the same filtration system used in the White House and that refills were free and unlimited. I prefer filtered water to tap, so I was willing to give it a try. I admit it was definitely better, but I’m not sure how clients are going to feel paying for flat water…maybe it’s just me. This water thing is new for Moxies and still in the pilot stage so it may not be available at all of them as yet.

Since moving back to Ontario, I’ve had less opportunity to go to Moxies because there are less Moxies in the east, but if Courtneypark is any indication, Moxies is expanding out here more and more. Last night’s trip included reminiscing about Calgary with one of the trainers who was down for the opening and a Bellini and med bread before dinner. The food was great and came out in a timely, unrushed pace. The staff were a bit overzealous in making sure we were taken care of, but given that it was the official opening, I’m neither surprised by that nor bothered. My water glass was always full and if we’d needed anything, there was always a member of the staff nearby.

If you’re in Mississauga and you’re planning to go to the Courtneypark AMC, or you’re just in the area and in need of some good food, check out Moxies. (Or to the website and show up at the Moxies closest to you.) I guarantee you won’t be disappointed. And in a few weeks when the patio is open, you can sip your Bellini in the sun.

 

And that’s my foodie 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on March 20, 2012.

2 Responses to “New Moxies at Courtneypark”

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. However think about if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this website could definitely be one of the greatest in its field. Fantastic blog!

    • Thanks. I’m not tech savvy enough, or interested in it enough to learn video content, but I have considered pictures. Just haven’t gotten there yet.

Leave a Reply

 
