This Means War

When I went to see This Means War last week, there wasn’t anything out that I was falling all over myself to see so that’s how we ended up here and I’m glad we did. This Means War is HYSTERICAL! I was completely surprised. I expected a couple of smart, witty one liners and a couple of good laughs and that was about it – one of those movies where the best parts are in the trailer you know? The plot was as simple and predictable as you might expect from this type of film, but McG cleverly kept This Means War moving at a great pace so you spent most of your time laughing, and not at the predictability, transparency or ridiculous holes in the plotline but at the very well crafted performances given by the three leads.

I had heard some reviews that targeted Reese Witherspoon as the weakest link because she’s “not sexy enough” to inspire men to fight over her. Well the men I know all disagree with that sentiment and objectively I think she’s more than attractive enough. She’s also got great comedic timing and she’s talented enough to elevate the whole movie with her performance. Chris Pine and Tom Hardy put in admirable performances, both as suitors to Witherspoon’s characters and as each half of their bromance. With the difference in their physical appearances (Pine is clearly the “pretty” one while Hardy is more rugged) they cast a wide net for the female demographic while still portraying manly men who fight and shoot guns.

This Means War is a perfect date night movie because it has a little something for both. It’s fun and entertaining and will make for a lighthearted evening for anyone looking to get out to the movies. At the very least it’s a rental if you don’t catch it at the theatre.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on March 12, 2012.

8 Responses to “This Means War”

  1. Wow, cool post. I’d like to write like this too – taking time and real effort to make a great article… but I procrastinate too a lot and never seem to get started. Thanks though. 583207

    • Thank you. It doesn’t actually take as long as you think to write up these articles. I find that it just flies out of me after I’ve seen or read something. It’s also like a snowball. It’s a little harder to roll at first but once you get it going it almost does the work for you. Give it a try, I’m sure you’d be great.

  2. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just nice and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  3. Been a follower for a while now

  4. Hi there I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

 
