EMPIRE by Steven Saylor

I got Empire as a birthday gift this year and have read many of Steven Saylor’s books, so I was stoked to read this one. Empire follows Roma (which I still need to read) chronologically but the two can be read separately without any interruption in your understanding or enjoyment.

Covering the time from 14 CE to 141 CE, (or AD for those of you who are old school) Empire is the story of Rome from the time of the first Roman Emperor, Augustus (Julius Caesar was Dictator for Life, not emperor although he acted more or less like an emperor) to just after the death of Hadrian, who happens to be my personal favourite of the emperors regardless of Saylor’s depiction of him as less enlightened than he is portrayed in other works I’ve read.

Saylor’s Empire is not a treatise on history as you may now be fearing; it is a factional tale that follows the lives of the Pinarii (Pinarius family) through the generations. Real historical figures, in addition to the emperors, make appearances on the way to lend the novel some gravitas and reality to an extremely engrossing story. Saylor also does a wonderful job describing what Rome would have been like visually had you lived then. For me I could close my eyes and be back there instantly, just with his descriptions.

Having actually walked the Forum and sat in the Colosseum, not to mention being an Ancient Rome buff, you might think I’m at an advantage or that Empire won’t appeal to you since it’s a work of historical fiction. You would be wrong. Saylor is an excellent storyteller and he is really well-versed in the era and in Roman history specifically. Empire is a book written in an almost epic scale but it is a wonderfully descriptive, character driven story that translates well from its ancient roots into our modern brains.

My first Steven Saylor book was Catalina’s Riddle, while I was still in high school. It was there I first met the character of Gordianus the Finder whom I found to be engaging and very human. From there I was hooked and read all his books in that vein. I’ve been reading Saylor for years and I can confidently recommend that if you pick up any of his books, not just Empire you’ll enjoy the read.

Any other objections, concerns etc.? No? Then what are you waiting for? Borrow, buy or beg your copy today and be sure to come back and tell me your thoughts on Empire once you’ve had a chance to read it. Gotta go; going to find myself a copy of Roma.

 

And that’s my literary 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on March 12, 2012.

8 Responses to “EMPIRE by Steven Saylor”

  1. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  2. If you’re serious about making money with your website, watch this free video about getting free instant targeted traffic to your site http://instanttrafficrobot2.com

  3. I truly wanted to post a brief note to express gratitude to you for these wonderful instructions you are posting here. My long internet research has at the end of the day been recognized with really good tips to share with my great friends. I would express that we readers are very endowed to live in a magnificent network with many awesome people with useful methods. I feel quite grateful to have discovered your web page and look forward to tons of more excellent minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for everything.

    • Thank you, that’s very high praise. I hope you come back and enjoy further posts and will continue to become part of the conversation. Saylor’s next book comes out in June and I’ll be sure to post about that one so be sure to watch for it.

  4. Hey there I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

 
