THE 9TH JUDGEMENT by James Patterson

I promised you a book review in time for the weekend and I’m giving you my thoughts on The 9th Judgement by James Patterson (and Maxine Paetro). (True it’s a few hours late, but that’s due to a dinner out with a good friend.) This is as the title implies, the ninth book in the Women’s Murder Club series. The back of the book hinted at something much more salacious than reading it revealed, but it was no less entertaining for that.

Ok, The 9th Judgement sees Lindsay Boxer and the gang trying to stop a guy that kills women and children and solve the murder of a movie star’s wife. Not to mention find the thief who stole millions in jewels from San Fran’s rich and richer.

I found the latest WMC adventure high on plot and lazy on character development. It’s not a good introduction into the series for that reason, but for those who already know and love Lindsay and Co, it’s still good fun. But just like Kill Alex Cross I confess I did find myself a little disappointed. After all, I usually find his books to be better than brain candy and after three brain candy books, I was turning to Patterson (and Paetro) expecting more.

My disappointment aside I have one bone to pick with the authors. After the cases were solved and the celebratory dinner was in the oven, Joe – Lindsay’s hubby-to-be – was called away for work. For about five pages there’s a question of whether or not he’s dead because his plane went down. Lindsay is completely stressed out and faints. What the hell was the point of that? It was a cheap thrill at best, but if you ask me it was simply superfluous.

I think this is my most back and forth review yet and that’s got to be because I really want to like the book so badly and I feel let down by it. So how about this? Go to the library and borrow it (instead of spending your money on it) and let me know what you think of The 9th Judgement.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on March 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
