Safe House

First I should apologize for the time lapse between this review of Safe House and my last review. I know (or at least hope) you’ve missed my witty opinions but unfortunately, I haven’t read anything of note (just three “candy” books) or seen or done anything worth telling you about either. So my apologies for being boring; hopefully I’ll make it up to you today. And if not, check back on the weekend because I’m reading a book that will definitely merit comment.

I will admit to going into Safe House with a healthy amount of trepidation. And that’s totally because of the two stars. Once upon a time I would never have believed Denzel Washington wouldn’t deliver. He’s a great actor that for the longest time couldn’t miss. But have you seen Unstoppable? Even with the pretty that is Chris Pine it was absolutely unwatchable. Blech! Reason number two was of course Ryan Reynolds. Canadian solidarity and his good looks aside, I have to say, this Canuck is a mediocre actor on his best day. (His best performance to date was opposite Sandra Bullock in The Proposal.) I find that Ryan is the same in every movie. Put together cuts of his performances and you’ll see it too. The cadence of his speech, (hello William Shatner School of Acting) his utter inability to emote anything other than cockiness and the lifelessness of his characters…it’s all the SAME. Having those fears, it was with great relief that I spent two hours with Denzel and Ryan to a movie that was entertaining, full of high octane fun, surprising (once) and totally worth the price of admission. Safe House has a plot that is credible – as credible as movies in this genre get – and is paced out well, with the action keeping things moving forward at a good fast pace, but not so fast you feel like a victim of whiplash. Not an Oscar worthy performance from either star, but Safe House is good movie choice for your Friday night.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

P.S. Do you agree with me? Did you see the movie and have a different opinion? Maybe you think Ryan Reynolds can do no wrong? We’re always interested in your opinion, so hit that comment button on the bottom of any posting and have your say.

~ by leslies2cents on February 27, 2012.

One Response to “Safe House”

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

 
