Diary of a Bryan Adams Fan: Four Times in Nine Years

I am a huge fan of Bryan Adams, HUGE. I absolutely love him. This should not be taken to mean that I’m one of those crazy “superfans”. I love him for his talent and his unpretentious style.

I really first became aware of Bryan Adams after seeing the movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves back in 1992 (which incidentally is still on my top 10 list of movies). It was the first time that I made a choice about the music I enjoyed independent of my parents’ influences. It’s also the first time (but not the last) that I influenced my mother’s choices. (To this day she enjoys the song “Rumpshaker – just don’t ask who sang it; no idea anymore.) Why am I telling you all this you might ask? Why am I getting so personal? I mention it because Bryan Adams is touring across Canada again and I’m going to see him…again! And I’m just so excited I can’t keep it to myself. I’ve told all my friends and everyone I know, so now I’m telling you.

The first time I say Bryan Adams was in September of 2003 with my friend S. We were wont to take trips together (previous trips including a camping week and a weekend in Niagara gambling and over-dressing for dinner out) and this time we went to Toronto for the weekend and stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle (made affordable by post-SARS tourism injecting low prices) and saw Bryan Adams at the Molson Amphitheatre. It was SPECTACULAR!

Three years later, in January 2006, I went to my second Bryan Adams concert at the Saddledome in Calgary. What made this concert extra special was that I won a contest to meet him earlier in the day and have him sign my CD. Unfortunately, my flash did not go off and so my picture of it is kinda like one of Bigfoot. I swear it’s me and Bryan Adams and people nod and smile but we both know they’re just humouring me. I was there with two friends this time and the concert was even better than the first. Bryan Adams played for three hours. During his second encore, he tried to tell us all to go home (joking of course) but we all shouted no and he threw his water bottle at his brother (this is conjecture based on the knowledge that his brother lives (or lived) in Calgary and attended the concert) and a sang a couple more songs for us.

Another three years pass and I’m at the Jack Singer in Calgary attending a much smaller, acoustic performance. I think I might have enjoyed that one best of all to date. I even recorded parts of it –  badly – on my cell. It’s ok that the recordings didn’t turn out though, because my memory is still really clear of all my Bryan Adams concert experiences.

Cut to 2012 (oddly enough, three years since my last visit with Bryan Adams) and I’m taking my mom and my godmother to see him in May. It’s their first time seeing him and I couldn’t be more excited. See you at the concert!

 

And that’s my so-excited-I-can’t-sit-still 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on February 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “Diary of a Bryan Adams Fan: Four Times in Nine Years”

  1. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web site!

    • Thank you. We haven’t offered anything as yet, but I could see doing that depending on the subject. Was there anything in particular you were thinking you could contribute to?

Leave a Reply

 
