THE BOOK OF LIES by Brad Meltzer

I convinced my mother to try something other than her trash romances, thus Brad Meltzer’s The Book of Lies. While we were in the bookstore I read the flap and words like Cain & Abel, murder, the Bible, mystery, Superman creator Jerry Sigel all jumped out at me and (other than the Superman reference) were things I knew would appeal to my mom. So in addition to a Nora Roberts book (which I’ve since read out of desperation and found mildly amusing) she also purchased The Book of Lies. I read faster than her so I got to it first…she didn’t even know until I told her that I had borrowed and returned the book to her pile.

The main character, Cal, gets caught up helping a father he hasn’t seen in nearly 20 years (since the guy killed his mother) and quickly finds that the adventure is both more mysterious and dangerous than he could have imagined. It links back to the murder of Jerry Siegel’s father, and further than that, back to the murder of Abel, by Cain.

Sounds exciting right? Not so much. If I were to describe the book in one word it would be forgettable. I know, I know, you’re thinking I must be crazy to find all that less than memorable, but it was. The pace of The Book of Lies seemed to meander in no particular hurry. It was only my determination to solve the puzzle that kept me reading. And what’s even worse, it’s taken me over a week since I finished it to find the time to write the review and I needed to pick the book back up and thumb through it to remind myself what happened. So like I said, forgettable.

I guess that means my final word on it would be, if you find the subject-matter interesting, borrow this one from the library.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on February 6, 2012.

One Response to “THE BOOK OF LIES by Brad Meltzer”

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

 
