Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

A Game of Shadows makes four movies in four weeks. That’s more movies than I usually see in six months, but it’s been great…and I don’t just mean seeing the Batman trailer on the big screen. I was outvoted in the latest movie choice and I’m actually glad about that. Before I tell you about the movie and my thoughts on it I should give you two important facts. First, I think Robert Downey Jr (RDJ) is one of the best actors out there and I generally like his movies. I think if he hadn’t lost those years to his demons he’d be the indisputable best. Second, I did not enjoy the first Sherlock Holmes movie. In fact, I found it quite dull. It was disappointingly slow.

Now, A Game of Shadows. It picks up shortly after the end of the first Sherlock Holmes and quicklky crystallizes the rivalry between Holmes and Moriarty. Ms. Adler meets with an unfortunate accident at the hands of Moriarty, thus spurring Holmes to vengeance on top of his desire to protect the world from Moriarty’s evil. The only thing I liked about the first Sherlock Holmes was the way the relationship between Holmes and Watson was portrayed. In A Game of Shadows, they kept up this witty, snarky bromance wonderfully. In fact, the casting was all around excellent. I don’t want to give too much away but Holmes must stop Moriarty from inciting a world war and we see a very classic “end” to Moriarty, which I found quite fitting.

A Game of Shadows moved along at a fast clip. Much faster than the first Sherlock Holmes and it was ten times better for that. The biggest black mark in my opinion was the fact that it was long enough for my butt to go numb. Unfortunately, that’s an increasing event as movies get longer and longer.

Witty and entertaining, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is worth a trip to the theatre, or a rental if you prefer a bathroom break.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on February 6, 2012.

3 Responses to “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows”

  1. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Many thanks

    • I just came here to wordpress and selected a theme. All the work is done for you. I’m not all that web savvy myself and even I find this super easy. You can even bring over stuff from a pre-existing blog on another platform to your wordpress blog.

  2. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

 
