Underworld: Awakening

I couldn’t even wait until morning for this. I just got back from seeing Underworld: Awakening and it was…awesome! When I heard they were doing another one and that Kate Beckinsale was back in the saddle as Selene, I was absolutely thrilled. At just under an hour and a half, Underworld: Awakening is the fourth instalment in a series that’s been going strong for a decade now (more or less since the first movie came out in 2003).

Underworld: Awakening takes place after the second movie. Humans have discovered the existence of vampires and lycans and are hunting them. They capture Selene and (make you think) they killed Michael Corvin (aka Scott Speedman whose screen time in the movie is very short and takes place more in flashbacks than new material). Cut to 12 years later and Selene is broken out of captivity by a hybrid child, hers and Michael’s. Naturally they’re hunted. Kris Holdenreid, lately of Lost Girl fame makes an appearance as the ultimate lycan on steroids. In the end – SPOILER ALERT!  – we find out Michael is alive. Selene manages to bust the system keeping him on ice but a reunion doesn’t happen. Following her victory, she and her daughter miss Michael by moments. This of course leaves the door wide open for another sequel. And you know what? I bet I’d pay money to see that one too.

A few comments: First up, Underworld: Awakening introduces us to a new character, David, played by gorgeous newcomer Theo James. (I can’t believe I said that about someone younger than my little brother!) I don’t know why I haven’t seen him before – although a brief look at his imdb profile reveals a short history with nothing I recognize – but I hope this is just the first of many sightings. Now, Scott Speedman’s absence. Yes he’s Canadian and I’m Canadian, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to spare him the truth as I see it. So Scott, if you chose not to be significantly involved in this movie, you are a dumbass! I’m sorry, but that’s the truth. If it was the choice of the writers and/or producers and/or director, it was a good one. I hate to disparage another Canadian, but his acting was the weakest link in the first two movies of the franchise. One quick note on Detective Sebastian, played by Michael Ealy, you have lovely eyes. Finally, I’d like to say that I went into Underworld: Awakening expecting to like it, wanting to like it and I was not disappointed. The more so because I was surprised near the end. Once Selene broke the freezer Michael was in, I figured he’d save the day when Selene and company were getting their asses handed to them by the big bad wolf. Instead, it was David. Excellent choice. Very happy with that decision.

My final verdict? You get what you expect with Underworld: Awakening. It’s delivered to you with lots of fast-paced, in your face, down and dirty action. It’s true to the grit and gore of the franchise and is made for fans of this type of flick. I just wish I’d skipped the 3D. If you like the genre or if you just liked the original Underworld, you’ll love Underworld: Awakening too.

 

And that’s my grin-plastered-on-my-face 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on January 26, 2012.

4 Responses to “Underworld: Awakening”

  1. Appreciating the persistence you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

 
