THE ATLANTIS REVELATION by Thomas Grenias

The Atlantis Revelation is the other book I bought when I purchased The Mask of Troy. Again, just the title attracted me. (As I kid I was attracted to all things fantastical. I dreamed of discovering Atlantis or proving that unicorns were real and the like.) TAR is also a book featuring a recurring character. Anyone who has read a couple of my reviews already will know that I like books with recurring characters because you get invested in the characters and their lives. It becomes almost like visiting friends to read the stories they’re in.

The Atlantis Revelation is about the discovery of a Nazi weapon (a parallel with The Mask of Troy that I did not know about before reading the book) based on Atlantean technology which the bad guys, aka the Alignment, want to use for their evil plan – basically they want to destroy all governments on the planet in favour of a one government system that would be controlled by the Alignment. It’s up to Conrad Yeats and his (often tricky or dishonest) allies to stop them.

I don’t doubt that Grenias did a lot of research for this book. That at least is obvious and thorough. Where he fell down was on the storytelling itself. TAR is full of mystery, conspiracy and people who aren’t what they appeared to be and one miraculous recovery from a fatal wound. It was so full in fact that it went too far. Whether it’s a book or a movie, there’s a point of no return, a point where fiction ceases to be entertaining and the almost real becomes completely unbelievable. For me, this book crossed that threshold and so became dramatically less entertaining. It would be forgivable if this were the author’s first foray into fiction or their first full length novel, but this is not the case with Grenias. I would liken TAR to an action movie populated with C level stars and a crappy story that’s just about a car chase followed by an explosion followed by a car chase and so on.

I guess what I’m really saying here is that The Atlantis Revelation was underwhelming. If you’re in an airport and it’s the only book that you haven’t read or you want something fluffy for your vacation, by all means, pick it up and have a go. For my part, I won’t be running out anytime soon to purchase another Thomas Grenias novel.

 

And that’s my honest-as-it-comes 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on January 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
