Contraband

After seeing it last night, I give this movie a sold 6 out of 10. Although the first half was really slow and the build up seemed to take forever, it was actually better than I expected it to be. Like a romcom, this is a fairly formulaic action flick; where it excelled was in the creativity of how Whalberg’s character got the goods past Customs. The writers definitely showed some ingenuity there.

While I was watching the movie I had this nagging, where do I know that guy from thing happening. It took me about two thirds of the movie before I realized Contraband’s Irish mob boss guy was Runcorn in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. Trust me when I tell you it was frustrating as all hell. I have a great memory for faces and it drives me crazy until I can place someone.

All in all, the acting in Contraband was decent. I don’t know why people rag on Kate Beckinsale, but they do. I like her and as a matter of fact, I’m really looking forward to seeing her in the new Underworld flick that comes out today and I thought she was pretty great in this role. Mark Whalberg will forever be haunted by his alter ego, “Marky Mark” and he’ll always be a former CK underwear model. However, instead of lamenting his past, he doesn’t overreach and makes solid choices in the roles he portrays. He doesn’t do crap, but he’s not likely to win an Oscar either (even if he’s occasionally in Oscar adjacent roles). He chooses good roles that are appropriate to his image and his abilities. He’d never do The Pacifier, but you’ll also never see him in something super cerebral either.

My final conclusion? If you are a fan of action movies there are much worse movies out there to spend your $12 on.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today…well sort of…coming up is a new book review.

~ by leslies2cents on January 20, 2012.

3 Responses to “Contraband”

  1. There’s not a lot to think about while watching it and we’ve seen some of this plot before in other films, but for a movie opening in January, it’s actually pretty damn good thanks to a couple of cool heists and a relatively good cast. Nice review.

  2. Helpful info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by accident, and I am stunned why this accident didn’t came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

 
