MASK OF TROY by David Gibbins

I enjoyed Mask of Troy very much. It was another lucky find for me. There I was wandering the aisles of Chapters, bereft of anything new from my regulars but jonesing to spend the gift card I found in my stocking Christmas morning. I bought two books that day and Mask of Troy was the first. I actually finished it several days ago but have been too busy to post about it until now. But now that I am, let’s get to it shall we?

The basic plot is that archaeologist Jack Howard and is team are in Troy – yes, that Troy – looking for the Shield of Achilles. What they find is more than they ever expected. And that’s all I’m going to tell you because I don’t want to ruin a single minute of the experience you’ll have reading this book.

Greek legends and mythology grabbed my interest early on and haven’t let go, so it was an easy sell for me to pick up the book. I read a few pages right there in the aisle and there was no way I was leaving without Mask of Troy. Gibbins skilfully integrates fact and fiction, history and legend until only PhD candidates would know where one leaves off and the other begins. Really, really great from that perspective, but fear not because it isn’t just ancient history buffs that will enjoy this book. You’ll also like Mask of Troy if you have any interest in archaeology, mythology, Nazi mysticism, WWII, a good, Indiana Jones-esque adventure or just a well-written story. Trust me when I say you won’t regret spending a few hours with this book. And if you do, you can always post a comment and tell me why I’m wrong. I always want to hear your thoughts on the things I post about, whether you agree with me or not.

Author David Gibbins is a Canadian-UK hybrid (click here to go to his website) whose interest in history and scuba diving provide him with the perfect backdrop for his entertaining tales. Well, Mr. Gibbins, you’ve definitely gained a new fan in me and I can guarantee I’ll be following Jack Howard and company on another adventure very soon.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on January 16, 2012.

4 Responses to “MASK OF TROY by David Gibbins”

  1. This sounds like a great book. I haven’t read anything by David Gibbins, but the way you make ‘Mask of Troy’ sound, it’s something I really should read. I love Greek mythology (and scuba diving), so this actually sounds really interesting. Thanks for the review!

  2. The only image content is the banner at the top of the blog, so I’m thinking it must be on your end…

  3. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

 
