Merlin Season (or Series of you prefer) 4 Premiere

Because of the shorter UK season (only 13 episodes) it seems like Merlin fans have been waiting a super long time for the new season. And the wait was a frustrating one because things are finally happening!

For those who don’t remember or missed it, the end of season (or series for my UK readers) 3 revealed Morgana for the evil witch she is and we thought Morgause was possibly dead. Arthur won the day with the help of Sir Leon and newly minted knights Sirs Lancelot, Gawaine, Percival and Elyan…and of course with Merlin himself. The rescued Uther is languishing in near catatonic despair and Gwen is the (sort of) acknowledged love of Arthur. All in all, big changes in a short span of time.

Cut to season 4 and we discover a year has passed since that battle. Morgana has embraced her dark side, Morgause is not day, Gwen has blossomed and is definitely more lady than servant (despite caring for the still despondent Uther) and Merlin and Arthur are closer than ever. I don’t want to give too much away because the episode is a two parter, but I will say all the characters seem to have grown and for a show that can frequently be too campy for my taste, it was a nicely dramatic turn.

Here’s a fun fact for you: John Hurt is the voice of the dragon. Don’t know who that is? I’ll give you a hint. The wand chooses the wizard…If you can’t figure out who he is from that, I’m not sure we can be friends. Keep visiting for a book review later this week. The author is a new one for me and I’m quite happy with the book so far.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on January 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “Merlin Season (or Series of you prefer) 4 Premiere”

  1. Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    • I don’t know of any off the top of my head, but if you google the subject you’d like to converse about and put forum at the end of the search string, you should find stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
