KILL ALEX CROSS by James Patterson

In spite of the family placed embargo on purchasing new reading material, I couldn’t help myself and got a copy of Patterson’s new novel, Kill Alex Cross. How could I not? The guy was on TV himself shilling the book. If it’s under the tree, I’ll just act surprised.

The Plot

The US President’s children have been kidnapped and there is an active terrorist cell working in DC to assassinate key political figures. The cases may or may not be linked, Cross and the various alphabet agencies just can’t be sure one way or the other…I don’t want to spoil too much and it would be easy to do with this book. At the request of the First Lady, Alex is focusing his efforts on the safe return of the children.

My Opinion

In a word: Disappointing. I completely disagree with Patterson who proclaimed this might just be the best Cross novel yet – while hinting that he might even knock of the iconic Alex Cross. As if! Why would any author believe his/her readers are as dumb as to believe it possible that he/she would kill off the golden goose? It’s preposterous and insulting all at once. Besides that, at no point did I find Cross to be in anything remotely approaching mortal danger. My final analysis? This is the worst Alex Cross novel ever. Don’t bother wasting your ten bucks buying it. Instead, keep your fingers crossed that the next one will be a return to the quality we readers have come to expect.

 

And that’s my let down 2¢ for today.

 

Merry Christmas to all and see you in 2012.

 

 

~ by leslies2cents on December 19, 2011.

11 Responses to “KILL ALEX CROSS by James Patterson”

  1. starting a web business
    {{Hey, wonderful weblog structure! How long have you been blogging?}|{You make blogging look easy. The total look of your web site is fantastic!}}

    • Thank you. I’ve only been blogging since earlier this year, but I have to admit that I’m a Communications professional, so it’s perhaps a little easier for me than for some others who don’t have the benefit of the training I’ve had. As for the website, I can’t take any credit for that; it’s all WordPress. I just had to find something I like and push a couple of buttons. They took care of the rest. Thanks for visiting and I hope you’ll come back often.

  2. Thenk you very much
    Vimax

    • Um, you’re welcome? Are you thanking me for saving you from reading a stinker or just for having an opinion? I’m not entirely sure. Either way, I’m glad it proved useful to you.

  3. I really glad to locate this web site on bing, just what I was seeking for : D as properly saved to favorites . 216302

    • Glad you came and that you liked us! Please visit often, and remember, if there’s a book you want to hear my opinion on, just let me know and I’ll add it to my pile of reading.

  4. I’m a huge Alex Cross fan, but unfortunately what I’ve seen with some bestselling authors who are under pressure to pump out books one after the next within a certain period of time, they end up producing mediocre work. Thanks for the heads up, Leslie, I’ll be borrowing this one from the library.

    • Glad to be able to save you the ten bucks. And I couldn’t agree more about the mediocre products they churn out. Oh, and I hope you’ll come back and let me know what you thought of the novel once you’ve read it.

      • It might be a while. I have other novels on my TBR list, plus I have some catching up to do with regards to Alex Cross. The last one I read in the series was BIG BAD WOLF. I’ll be glad to share my thoughts.

      • Wow. you definitely need to do some catching up to do. When you get there, be sure to check out my review of Crossfire too. I enjoyed it much more than Kill Alex Cross. My list is pretty short right now; seem to have caught up with my authors so I’m once again trying someone new. That review should be up by the weekend, or Monday at the latest if I get busy.

  5. FOr sure. I’ve subscribed to this blog so I won’t lose you.

Leave a Reply

 
