THE SHADOW MATRIX & TRAITOR’S SUN by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Once I got started with Exile’s Song, I really couldn’t stop, so I went ahead and read both The Shadow Matrix and Traitor’s Sun, which are the subsequent novels, in quick succession. (Click here to read my review of Exile’s Song.) The Shadow Matrix and Traitor’s Sun take up the tale of Marguerida Alton and Mikhail Hastur where we left off (although there is a fifteen year gap between end of TSM and the beginning of TS).

In The Shadow Matrix, we add time travel to the mix of magic, politics and telepathy. We also see – despite some fervent protestations – Marguerida and Mikhail married. IT was a pretty quick read for me, but other than the time travel part, I didn’t really remember much about the book, so rereading The Shadow Matrix was almost as good as reading it for the first time.

Onto Traitor’s Sun. I own this book, I should emphasize that. When it first came out in 1999, I was living in Ontario, bought it and read it. Traitor’s Sun then moved with me to Alberta and then back to Ontario again, so I must have liked it the first time around. But I remembered none of it. NOTHING. I just couldn’t believe it; I mean if someone had asked me – SPOILER ALERT – if the Federation were going to leave Darkover again, I would have said no and been wrong. Again a really fun read.

I have to give kudos to Adrienne Martine-Barnes who collaborated with Marion Zimmer Bradley on these three books; if she hadn’t the Darkover saga may have been quiet much sooner. (Because she might have been unable to finish the books due to her illness and subsequent death.)

The long and the short of it is that if you want a good read or you’re looking to pick up that last gift for the Sci-Fi/Fantasy reader in your life, the Darkover books (at least the more recent ones) are readily available in any bookstore and online and you’ve still got a few shopping days left before Christmas.

 

And that’s my holiday-good-wishes 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on December 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “THE SHADOW MATRIX & TRAITOR’S SUN by Marion Zimmer Bradley”

  1. Execelent details my friend, micro nichos rentables I just did not know what you published, terrific share. micro nichos rentables

Leave a Reply

 
