A Chipmunk Christmas and other Holiday Specials

I was cyber-stalking Matthew Gray Gubler, hoping for an indication of where he was/would be, because I have a friend currently in LA who is aware that he is on the top of my wishlist this year. So I was reading his twitter feed and he posted a message about A Chipmunk Christmas. (Oh, for those of you who don’t know, Matthew Gray Gubler is the voice of Simon in the recent Chipmunks movies: Alvin and the Chipmunks, Alvin and the Chipmunks: the Squeakuel and Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chip-Wrecked.)

It should be no surprise, since we’re of an age, but like Matthew Gray Gubler, I LOVED the Chipmunks Christmas movie as a kid. (Click here to get it from Amazon.) Off and on for years my parents tried to find it for me on VHS (and later on DVD). I put their failure down to living in a smaller city and the fact that internet buying wasn’t invented yet.

Anyway, Christmas is different things to each of us. For me, Christmas is the smell of clementines being peeled and the taste of candy canes, raspberry Schwepps gingerale and my grandfather’s candy. But it’s also about a vast tradition of Christmas specials. It’s just not Christmas without How the Grinch Stole Christmas. That’s got to be my number one. And despite having no religious affiliation myself, I try to watch the Charlie Brown Christmas special every year and I absolutely cannot miss the Mickey Christmas Carol or the Muppet Christmas Carol (I love you Michael Caine!). On Christmas Eve, when I’m at home, I always watch White Christmas with my mother.  And that’s how I celebrate Christmas.

It doesn’t matter that I can quote all of these movies from beginning to end since I’ve been watching them for more than a couple of decades, because it’s about the tradition, it’s about the celebration that is Christmas. So what do you do to celebrate the season?

 

And that’s my holiday-minded 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on December 6, 2011.

6 Responses to “A Chipmunk Christmas and other Holiday Specials”

  1. Awsome post, Im now one of your feed followers
    vimax

    • That’s great. Please visit often and be sure to let me know if you agree or disagree with the opinions I’ve expressed. It’s always good to have a conversation string.

  2. Im struggling to get a way to make contact with you through your website, do you not have a contact form on the website at all?
    vimax

  3. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

 
