Five Guys Burgers and Fries

Five Guys is now open in Canada – at least in my area east of the GTA. You can visit their website here if you wish. For those of you who like burgers, I’d definitely recommend you give it a try. It’s a little pricier than your easily recognizable fast food chain (it cost the two of us about $23 for two burgers, fries and drinks) but infinitely better.

What does Five Guys do really well?

Quality. All the food is fresh. What does this mean? No frozen burger patties and the fries are hand-cut on site (I saw the many bags of potatoes with my own eyes).

Quantity. The burgers are a good size. According to the guy who gave this first-timer the spiel, there’s 3.6 ounces of meat on the “Little Hamburger” and twice that on the “Hamburger”. I found the Little to be perfect. The fries are, in a word, generous. We ordered a regular and split it between two of us and really, it could have done for three people easily.

Toppings. There are a lot of them…and they’re free. Even sautéed mushrooms and onions – which I love on my burger – which are available at a premium if at all at other burger joints.

Atmosphere. The staff was friendly, the service quick, the seating area was well-lit and clean – and as I could see into the kitchen, I can tell you that it looks clean and properly run.

Where could Five Guys improve?

Menu. For me it’s a little limited. I’d like to see them open it up just a little bit. Maybe offer onion rings and install one of those soft-serve ice cream/frozen yogurt machines.

All in all, I’d recommending stopping the next time you’re in the area. Have you been to a Five Guys? I’d love to hear what you thought.

That’s my full-stomach 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on November 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Five Guys Burgers and Fries”

  1. http://letserotic.com/ Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
