Pan Am Series Debut

I was a week late watching it, but last night I checked out the first two episodes of Pan Am. Before I get into the meat of my review, I’ve got to tell my female readers out there, I have serious wardrobe envy. I absolutely LOVE some of those dresses and outfits. I wish it was still the norm to get dressed to the nines to go out…except when I’m running around on errands or grocery shopping.

The first two episodes of Pan Am have provided drama, mystery and interesting characters to explore over the season. Given that much of the new fall line up this season has been lacklustre, I would be surprised if Pan Am wasn’t a hit. Set on a backdrop of a time when flying was considered sexy and the height of indulgence usually available only to the elite with money and means, Pan Am follows the lives of four flight attendants (although then they were still called stewardesses). Maggie (Christina Ricci) is the bohemian rebel, Kate (Kelli Garner) the family black sheep who longed for more and so went out and got it, Laura (Margot Robbie) the until-recently-repressed younger sister of Kate and Colette (Karine Vanasse) is the sophisticated, carefree French woman. As they jet around the world serving cocktails and smiles, we get to tag along for the ride.

Putting the show on Sunday night was a genius move on the part of the network because Sunday offerings are traditionally so pathetic that they can almost guarantee themselves a large chunk of the viewership. So a tip of my hat to the Marketing team.

Some might argue that Pan Am is capitalizing on the popularity of Mad Men (which I’ve personally never watched) and the romanticism of the era. They would be right. But when it comes to TV, when you find a model that appeals to your audience, you work that model until it no longer pulls in viewers – anybody remember that at one time there were about a hundred medical dramas and there are always plenty of cop dramas to choose from. It’s a tried and true method and I can’t object to it. Since it appears to be an interesting bunch of characters backed by decent writing and acting I think we should all say thanks to the network for putting something mainstream on Sunday nights worth turning the TV on for. I predict that if they can keep this up, we’ll for sure at least see a second season.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on October 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
