The Mentalist

At the end of last season, Patrick Jane shot Red John; he got revenge and eliminated his motivation for working with the CBI. It’ll be interesting to watch how they move on from this.

To start off, the team has to rescue Jane from jail (the cops claim the man he killed wasn’t Red John). Meanwhile, the CBI director – who has suspended Lisbon and the rest of the team – is coming across as sketchy and unsure of himself as well as an insensitive jerk. Usually he just seems like a fame whore. Even suspended the team immediately rallies around Jane. It’s been a week of solid, indestructible teams persevering through hardships/ First Castle, then Criminal Minds and now The Mentalist. We should all be so lucky.

Ha! Lisbon gets handed a paper bag full of money, but after working with Jane for a while, this is par for the course and it doesn’t even seem to faze her. And don’t get me started on Jane and his tea!

Maybe this couple really didn’t have secrets because it looks like she knew what the key went to…there’s some sort of secret apartment in the basement of their house…oh no, she doesn’t know what the key for and she and her hubby are equally sick – she worked with him to kidnap that girl. That’s a bit of a twist. Next thing you know we’ll be finding out this was just some random sicko and really not Red John after all.

Great closing speech. Gotta give the credit to Bruno Heller for some really good writing in this series. It’s hard to let the rational part of your brain not be overridden by the visceral, emotional part of ourselves that demands justice, demands blood for the death of our loved ones. Well done. As if there was any doubt, it’s a “not guilty” verdict for Jane.

Huh. I was right. Jane doesn’t believe that guy was Red John now. Do you know who my prime suspect is? The DBI director. He’s just acting too weird. I know he’s the obvious choice because of his sudden weirdness but perhaps that’s why Heller thinks we won’t suspect him. Well, I love a good mystery and I can’t wait to see how this one continues to unfold.

It’s been a lot of TV this week and there are shows that I just didn’t get to and other ones that I couldn’t be bothered to cover because they just weren’t any good. Nikita premieres tonight but unless I’m left more than lukewarm about it, I probably won’t review it, and if I do it won’t be up until Monday. There are plenty of great shows that I’ve missed reviewing, like Warehouse 13, Lost Girl and Covert Affairs, but not for lack of love. If you’re into the fantasy side of things either one of the first two might pique your interest and if you liked Alias you should give Covert a try. I am however, planning to give the Pan Am series debut a try on Sunday and then it’s back to the books for me. In honour of back to school I’ve chosen to read a book that’s often covered by high school English classes but wasn’t by any of mine in particular.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on September 23, 2011.

3 Responses to “The Mentalist”

  1. There are tons of good tv shows to choose from to say it’s the best. No matter what is said though, there is no doubt that this show ranks #1 of all of them. Yes, there are shows that are a bit newer but this one still has charm. There is comedy, sex, and a little politics, easily moving it up to the top. They just don’t make them like this nowadays.

  2. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

    • Thank you. I’m glad you enjoy. I’ve tried the RSS thing but it doesn’t seem to take…I’m guessing user error. If I manage to get it though, I’ll definitely email you. In the meantime, please keep visiting and bring your friends!

Leave a Reply

 
