Castle Season Premiere

Ok, first of all, let’s recap the end of the last season for those who might have missed it and then you can read my convoluted opinions about tonight’s episode. I’d separate it out like I did with the Hawaii Five-0 review, but I found that I pretty much ignored the case that was happening in the background while I focused on the changes to the cast and their relationships because of Kate’s shooting.

So at the end of last season, we find out that Captain Montgomery knew about what happened to Kate’s mom and he got killed trying to protect Kate from that knowledge. With her partners and Castle, they decided to keep the information from the rest of the force and Montgomery’s family and to let him die a hero. At his funeral Kate is shot. Castle tries to save her and tells her that he loves her. We pick up this season as she’s being rushed to the hospital.

Charming, gorgeous, well spoken, why is Canadian hottie Nathan Fillion still single? Sorry, distracted for a moment there. Emotional, that’s how I’d describe the opening minutes of the episode, because they’re more than partners, more than a team; they’re family. Montgomery may have sacrificed himself, but he didn’t get the man behind the curtain, so there’s still some danger to Kate even though she survives. That look of despair hastily covered when Kate tells Castle she didn’t remember. I don’t believe her for a second thought; it wouldn’t be as dramatic or as heartrending for the characters if she didn’t. It’s a look I’d gladly help take off his face. And now to make it worse, she’s basically told him she doesn’t want to see him. Two months. That’s how long she tortured him for. In the mean time, the new Captain kicked Castle out. Despite the fact that she’s a smart, savvy, sharp woman of power, my first impression of the new captain is that I don’t like her. But I don’t think we’re supposed to. And if nothing else, she gives Castle and Kate someone to rebel against together.

Montgomery sent the file to some mysterioso guy. Who is he? I kind of expected that he would have sent the file to Castle or to Kate herself. Huh.

Kate opens up a little and gives Castle some good solid reasons for not being with him (even if it is couched as an admission of her baggage) and gives credence to my theory that she remembers. However, reasons or not, it still sounds like straight up fear to me. At least we are seeing a renewal of their partnership, and for the romantic fools among us, that means hope.

Understandable or not, Kate is close to going off the deep end looking for clues. She’s on the very edge of going rogue it seems. Wouldn’t that be interesting?

I think that there must be some sort of crime fighting gene. How else to you explain the jump of logic that leads Kate, Castle and company to realize the killer must have hid under the bed? And that hunch is what subsequently leads them to the killer.

After telling Kate to give it a rest for now (because he got a call from the mysterioso guy that if she doesn’t she’ll be killed) Castle is investigating on his own. I see much danger ahead for the whole cast this season, much intrigue and possibly, near the end of the season, a revelation of the secret of Kate’s mother’s death. I’m so excited for this season of Castle, I can’t even tell you how much. Next to Criminal Minds (which premieres Wednesday) this might be the show I’m looking forward to most.

I told you so! I told you so! In the closing seconds, Kate is sitting with her psychiatrist and she admits that she remembers everything. Oh, and in case you’re wondering, that’s Michael Dorn, aka Worf from Star Trek TNG.

 

And there you have my 2¢ for today. Tune in all week for more reviews.

~ by leslies2cents on September 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Castle Season Premiere”

  1. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!

    • Thanks. I can’t take much of the credit though. That all goes to WordPress. You just pick your theme and get started. I’ve been blogging since April of this year, although I have a professional background in Communications, so that made getting started a little easier for me than perhaps it was for someone without that background. I’m glad you enjoy the site and hope you’ll continue to visit.

Leave a Reply

 
