ROOKIE BLUE – Season 2 Finale

Well, I don’t know what everyone else thought of the season finale, but I liked it. I was a little confused about the double episodes on the same night – I mean it wasn’t a two hour episode it was simply two episodes. Not curious enough to find out why it was done that way though; probably just some scheduling issue. If they had to go out already, and I’m disappointed that it’s over so soon, at least they went out the way the season came in, with a roar. As for season 3, apparently it’s being filmed in Toronto right now. So if you live in the area, keep your eyes open and you’ll probably get to see the cast. No word yet on when it will premiere, but William Shatner is set to guest star – I mean, come on, it’s William Shatner, star of TJ Hooker and Star Trek and a big Canadian icon. As for this season though, it wrapped up pretty much the way I would have expected.

We saw a return to action for Detective Luke, much appreciated since he’s been underused this season, Noelle and Frank are pregnant, Epstein and Diaz have resolved their issues (in typical male fashion) and are the best of friends again, Peck is back to being a bitch and the rookies are all making and fixing their screw ups. Oh yeah, and Nash is still happy and with Detective Jerry. She seriously needs some more interesting  plot time next season.

In particular, the season ending episodes focused on McNally and Swarek. Swarek as you know was undercover to catch Jamie Brennan, serious bad guy who had gone on the straight and narrow until his wife and daughter were killed and he returned to the life. Turns out that McNally and Swarek couldn’t keep their hands off each other once they got them on (see previous reviews for more info on that) and between that and Boyd setting Swarek up with the boat of a guy known to be in jail, Swarek’s cover is blown. He’s taken by Brennan to be tortured because he knows that Swarek is a cop and believes that his family was killed intentionally and that the police are covering it up. Turns out that he was right and Boyd (who is the one who put Swarek under) isn’t such a great cop. I’m anxious to see if he ever gets what’s coming to him next season. But in their usual “can-do” way, the rookies pull together, figure out where Swarek is being held and save him in time. At the end of the episode we find Swarek pulling up beside McNally and offering to try to be normal together. I love these two together and I’m so looking forward to seeing them try to be together and since they’re both suspended, they should have the time to make a really good go of it.

I have no idea what the next season of Rookie Blue is going to bring, but if I had to guess I’d say the writers will employ a typical plot device and jump us forward a few months at least and let us catch up over the season. When I do hear something about when season 3 is premiering, I’ll definitely post it but I’m sure for the Rookie Blue fans out there that the information won’t be hard to find once it’s available. In the meantime, we can all catch up on repeat episodes and hope that holds us over.

Stay tuned for season premiere reviews starting soon. I’ll be reviewing all my favourites and as many new shows as I can get in as well.

 

And that’s my satisfied 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on September 9, 2011.

One Response to “ROOKIE BLUE – Season 2 Finale”

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

 
