SIDE JOBS – JIM BUTCHER

At the end of Changes, I was angry at the thought of Harry dying…for about a second and a half. Once I was able to rein in my emotional response, the rational side of my brain was able to say Don’t be stupid. Butcher wouldn’t kill off Harry. Harry is his bread and butter. And before those of you who are fans of the Codex Alera series out there think of reminding me of that series, don’t bother. I tried the first book and didn’t enjoy it at all. As far as I’m concerned, they’re second-class citizens compared to Harry Dresden.

Back to Side Jobs. When it first came out, it was my brother who saw it first – he’s the one who got my dad and I reading the Dresden Files originally – I was all See I told you Harry wasn’t dead but then he explained how these were short stories Butcher had already written for publications and were just now being pulled together. That made me so sad that I put off reading the book. Until I saw Ghost Story on the shelves. Then I knew for sure there would be more Harry Dresden in my future and it was safe to read Side Jobs, which I read over Labour Day weekend. I have to say that despite how rough some of the stories were, especially the first piece (which Butcher admits himself) that I absolutely loved it. In between torrential rains, some retail therapy and more dull weather were these fantastic snippets of Harry Dresden magic to brighten my day. Incidentally, if you haven’t read a novel of the Dresden Files before, this is a great way to get to know the characters and see if you’d like Harry’s world. The nice thing is that from Side Jobs you could pick up any of the books because while there’s a certain continuity to reading them in chronological order as I have, they’re all self-contained stories, so it’s not strictly necessary.

The final story in the book begins when Murphy discovers Harry gone and blood and evidence of foul play all over the scene. I thought it was a clever way to bring us back to the current time in Dresden mythos (I might have just made that word up) and also a good way to whet the appetite for Ghost Story – which should be my next review if all goes as planned. It was also my favourite story of the book. Now normally I know when I’m getting to the end of a book and can brace myself for it, but it’s much less obvious when you’re reading the ebook, which is what I had in this case so when I finished the story I was eagerly anticipating the next only to have my ereader tell me there was no more that this was the end of the book. I tried to turn the page a few times, unbelieving, and I’m pretty sure the ereader got happier every time it told me this was the end of the book. It’s like it was laughing at me. So not fair.

Ok, so let’s be realistic. The weather is changing toward fall and there’s not much we can do about it. So this weekend, take a blanket with you out onto your deck and enjoy some of the year’s last sunshine and read Side Jobs. Trust me when I tell you you’ll thank me for it.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on September 7, 2011.

One Response to “SIDE JOBS – JIM BUTCHER”

  1. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

Leave a Reply

 
