Rookie Blue – Monster

“Flirt with my wife, it would make her day.” Shaw says to Diaz at the beginning of the episode (yes it’s a paraphrase.) Now that’s a man who loves his wife. I love it! Tonight’s cases feature a blue-faced bank robber and a puking guy who is the reason for the subsequent quarantine. Despite a great backdrop (the quarantine) tonight’s episode was, surprisingly, more about the cases than the relationships between the characters on the show. For example I was expecting some movement on the McNally-Luke front, but there was nothing (but the bee-atch (Jo) is gone so do a happy dance for McNally but be sad for us viewers because that source of drama has disappeared).A quick note to the writers before I get into the meat of tonight’s show: You’re under-using Lyriq Bent. Get on that already! I would throw Luke or Swarek under a bus for a shot at that guy and I guarantee you I’m not alone in that.

The part where they quarantine Nash and the two paramedics…Really, you’re just going to slap a quarantine sticker on the door and lock them in? Not cool. Not cool at all. If you have to quarantine people, or in any emergency situation, tell them what’s going on, as much information as you have. The situation is stressful enough without not knowing anything at all.

I have a serious question. Why did the bomb tech girl agree to go out with Epstein? What’s appealing about the guy? He’s less attractive than the rest of the guys, shorter and has confidence issues. And I personally think he has a bit of a thing for Peck. For me there’s absolutely no draw. So is it a pity date? Would you date Epstein?

On to the Williams-Frank whatever it is. They eat weekly now apparently though we’ve yet to them together even once. She and I want the answer to the same question: What the heck is this? And I have to say that he reacts like a stereotypical guy when she does ask the question…I don’t know…although in his defence she had just hit him with quite the bomb. Will he offer to be the baby daddy? Those would be some steamy scenes.

Blue-faced guy has just become pitiable because we found out that he and his wife both lost their jobs and the bank foreclosed on their homes. It’s a sad, sad situation. And thanks to a global recession in the last couple of years, not nearly as uncommon as we would like. A story like this one is both good and bad. Good because it shows an awareness of and sensitivity to what is going on in the world and bad because for most of us we like our TV to be an escape from reality. We did get an answer to what blue-faced guy swallowed at the beginning of the episode. His wedding ring. He hoped to keep his wife, who was also his accomplice in the robbery, from being found by the police. Noble but futile.

So back to the quarantine, where’s the drama? Where’s McNally and Swarek hooking up in an interview room or Diaz proposing to Peck? Something. Anything! The closest we got to dramatic was Nash recording a goodbye-that’s-not-a-goodbye video message to her son in case the worst should happen.

Tonight’s episode closed with Swarek taking Andy off and for one shining second you think, yes, it’s gonna happen because he’s unbuttoning his shirt. But sadly he’s just getting her to box with him because “that’s what she needs”. Because he knows that, and because he gives her that, I changed my mind again. I would not throw Swarek under a bus for a shot at Lyriq Bent. It’s Swarek for me every day of the week and twice on Sunday.

That’s my 2¢ for today but I did get my hands on a copy of A Dance with Dragons and am hoping to have that review up by Monday.

~ by leslies2cents on August 12, 2011.

6 Responses to “Rookie Blue – Monster”

  1. Right on!

  2. LOL, Are you critical?

  3. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!

  4. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

 
