BURIED PREY

Absolutely engrossing. That’s what I would say about this book if anyone asked. You might say I’m a soft touch because I like John Sanford’s books. In a way you would be right but in a way you’re also wrong. Because I like them and because I enjoy them so much my expectations are really high. And Sanford has delivered once again with Buried Prey. After 20 plus books in the series, Sanford is taking us back in time to see Lucas Davenport at the beginning of his detective career. It’s a good thing that I planned my weekend around this book because I was completely riveted; I just couldn’t put it down. I’m not exaggerating about the book being that good. In fact, I might have even lost a bit of weight from sitting oblivious to the 40° heat and skipping meals.

What was this book/case about? Two girls were kidnapped and killed in the 80s. It was Lucas’ first taste of detective work. The girls were never found, dead or alive, the killer was never caught and the case was never solved. He reminisces, relives that time really and we get in the way back machine with him and meet the younger Davenport. It’s the first time Sanford has ever used a tactic like this and I think he did it really effectively. It didn’t last too long but it gave us a good long look at Lucas back then and what drives him to this very day. Jumping back to present time,  the bodies of those two girls have been uncovered. This time Lucas is even more determined not to let the killer get away. He is successful in solving the case, but there is a rather nasty price to pay. I’m not going to tell you what it is because I really want you to read this book.

In case you haven’t read my review of other John Sanford books, you can click here to read what I thought about Bad Blood, but I can tell you in a nutshell what it is that I really like about John Sanford’s books. Nothing about them is pat or unintelligent. The stories are complicated and procedural. It takes hard work, perseverance, luck and sacrifice to solve the cases. And even then the win isn’t always as clean as you would like and there are sometimes loose ends. Why? Because it’s more real that way. I can confidently recommend Buried Prey or any other of the Prey novels as your next read. In fact, I can guarantee that if you like this type of book you will love Sanford’s novels, and if you’re looking for a book to start out a love affair with fictional crime, these are a great place to start.

 

That’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on July 25, 2011.

7 Responses to “BURIED PREY”

  1. Sites we Like……

    […] Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose […]……

  2. Websites we think you should visit…

    […]although websites we backlink to below are considerably not related to ours, we feel they are actually worth a go through, so have a look[…]……

  3. Abnormal this post is totaly unrelated to what I used to be searching google for, but it surely used to be indexed at the first page. I assume your doing something proper if Google likes you enough to position you at the first page of a non comparable search.

    • I actually don’t search myself that often to see where my posts come up, but it’s fantastic to hear that I’m on the top, at least for this book. I don’t think John Sanford gets enough press. Thanks, keep reading and good luck with your blog!

  4. Hiya, I just hopped over in your web site by means of StumbleUpon. Now not one thing I would usually read, however I liked your emotions none the less. Thank you for making something price reading.

    • Thanks Icd, we appreciate your patronage and hope you continue to enjoy reading the material we enjoy talking about. If you’re a fan of the Game of Throne series, our review of the 5th book, a Dance with Dragons, should be up by tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
