Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

The end has come. It was sad and awful and joyful and ultimately quite satisfying overall. And that’s no mean feat considering the hype that surrounded the final film. I was so worried that it wouldn’t live up to its potential and I’m so thankful that I can say it was as good as the hype and more.

Let’s talk negatives first shall we? I had heard the aging of the characters at the end was pretty bad. I’m not going to lie, it wasn’t great, but I’ve seen worse and really, these kids are in their early twenties, we know they’re in their early twenties so it’s incredibly difficult to see them as forty-year olds with kids of their own. What I didn’t like here was the brevity. This was an important scene; a real wrap-up of the series and a chance for us to say a last goodbye. I didn’t get that feeling here. And I felt the absence of even a mention of Neville acutely. They’ve really built him over the last few movies and I feel like his story wasn’t properly finished because he wasn’t included here. A real missed opportunity. The other part I didn’t like was the aftermath of the battle when you find out that Fred, Tonks and Lupin are dead. In the books this was absolutely heartrending for me. I shed copious, copious tears. But in the movie they skipped past it too fast for me to really feel the impact as strongly as it could have been delivered. I really hope there was even a little more to it – perhaps in the Director’s Cut?

Having said that, let’s move on to what was fantastic about this movie, which was a lot. I think that like many others, I might be forced to conclude that this was my favourite. I didn’t mind some of the deviations from the book, like the escape from Gingott’s, (and Griphook’s death) the addition of the scene where Ron and Hermione go to the Chamber of Secrets to kill the horcrux and finally share their kiss. Neville. I can’t tell you how much I loved Neville in this (and not just because he’s grown into a very handsome guy). From mentioning that he’s in love with Luna to facing Voldemort’s oncoming army to the man-making moment of killing Nagini –  Well done Neville! I thought the confrontation between Snape and the students where he asks them to give up Harry and Harry pops out of the line and calls him out was a really great addition. So effective and a wonderful instance of theatrical license. Snape’s death scene. God Alan Rickman really dies well. I’ve hated him (although I admired his acting) since I first saw him as the Sheriff of Nottingham in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and now I will love him for the rest of my days for his portrayal of Snape. The movie was true to the book in recounting Snape’s past and it only serves to further show the depth and subtlety of Rickman’s abilities.

There’s really too much to include in one post but I’ll tell you something, if anyone ever figures out how to obliviate people, please let me know. I would love to have all knowledge of Harry Potter obliviated so that I can discover it all over again. I don’t think that I am alone in this sentiment. I’d love to hear what you loved and what you didn’t about this movie.

According to Rowling, Harry Potter is and has always been a story about love, all kinds of love. For me that is a statement that rings with absolute truth. And I have loved every minute of the series from the first time I saw Harry on Privet Drive, through reading the series (yes I came late to the books) to watching the end this past Saturday. I think part of what makes us all such great fans of Harry Potter is that in watching the movies and in knowing how they love and how great that love is, we get as close to magic as muggles can ever get.

 

An enthusiastic endorsement of the movie accompanies my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on July 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
