WOMEN’S MURDER CLUB BOOKS 2-7

After I read 1st To Die, (click here for my review) I decided to read the rest of the series before reporting back to you. But that’s a lot of books with no postings, so I’m pausing after reading 7th Heaven to let you know how I feel about them.

After I read 1st, the impression I was left with was that the books would be light, fun reading despite the sometimes heavy subject matter of the cases and occasional danger to the characters. I still feel this way by and large. But what I did not expect was the death of a principal character – at least not in the 3rd book of the series. Despite clues alluding to her murder, I was quite shocked when Jill turned up dead. Imagine this: You’re sitting on the couch with a friend, just chatting or watching TV/a movie, whatever. Then, without warning and completely out of the blue, your friend reaches over and slaps you across the face. How shocked would you be? Exactly. Now you know how I felt.

With Jill’s absence, there was definitely an opening in the club and I wasn’t surprised to find that it was filled in quick order with the introduction of Yuki, another lawyer who helps Lindsay out of a jam and who becomes friends with Claire and Cindy as well. Initially I felt Yuki’s introduction and integration was rather clumsily done, but much like getting used to Ziva when Kate was killed off NCIS, I’ve become accustomed to the change and I like her very much. I’m looking forward to reading the three other books in this series.

I guess what I’m trying to say is this: The Women’s Murder Club books are really great fun and if what I’ve read so far is any indication, they will continue to have interesting stories, well written characters and the occasional shocker to keep the reader entertained along the way.

In the meantime, I’ve started a new book by an author I’ve never heard of. It’s my first request though, so despite the fact that it’s slow going so far, I want to make sure I accommodate the request. The book is set in 1800s Britain and India with a backdrop of newsies, murder and mysteries. Check back with me in a week or so to find out what I thought. And please, if you have a book you want me to review, just attach a comment to any post and I’ll do my best.

 

I guess that’s my 2¢ for today.

 

~ by leslies2cents on June 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
