Rookie Blue Starts Season #2

Are you watching it? This is a fantastic Canadian show!

There’s that guy from Smallville – Eric Johnson – he’s so pretty that it hurts to look at him sometimes. That’s ok though, ever since my first boyfriend, I’ve shied away from blonds. Hey Eric, change your imdb photo though; you look kinda like a used car salesman or a wannabe Italian Stallion. I know you can do better than that.

There’s also Missy Peregrym who I’ve loved since Black Sash (a show that was cancelled way too soon) whom I love so I’m always up for watching something she’s in. Those two, combined with the other eye candy – let’s face it, none of them are hard to look at and I sincerely hope that Lyriq Bent gets more screen time this season. The man has sex appeal for days. Seriously, check out the episode of Mutant X that he guested on. Must be his swagger. I know many women who would throw their men under a bus for a chance at that guy. It’s summer and the eye candy is reason enough for you to at least try it out right?

What kept me watching last season and looking forward to this season was more than just the view though. It’s the characters. They’re young, nervous, naive, arrogant, trusting, blustering, endearing and ignorant by turns. What sets this cop show apart from the others is that it’s more about the relationships than it is the cases. While Criminal Minds remains my favourite show for completely opposite reasons to why I like Rookie Blue, I find they both have merits. Blue is a great Canadian show – come on Canadians, support the locals! In fact, if you live in the Toronto area, you’ve probably walked right by an outdoor set over the last year. So now that I’ve wetted your appetite and you know that I won’t steer you wrong by saying something is entertaining that isn’t, give the show a shot.

Need to get caught up? You can buy or download all of season one in the usual places, or else check your local listings because they’re showing the last season to get people revved up for this one.

Missed the first episode of the season? That’s ok, keep reading.

Season #2 Episode #1

Nice, while they were on hiatus, apparently McNally’s (Peregrym) moved in with Detective Luke (Johnson) and at the top of the episode put in charge of a crowd control situation for some free concert. Big props for a rookie I guess. They did promise that someone got shot this season and guess what? They didn’t lie. What a way to start the season off, literally with a bang when McNally is shot. Luckily, it’s in the vest although the repercussions of that shot will reverberate through much of the season I’m sure.

This episode brings up the organ donor issue, which is a big one these days. I quite like it when shows are unafraid to take on hot button topics of this type. (The victim is an organ donor.) Not that you need to know, but I’m a donor.

The plot thickens; the victim it would appear was shot in a case of mistaken identity. Not an entirely unexpected twist, but it added an additional obstacle to their objective. Or maybe it actually made it easier? Can the rookies solve it? Ok, I won’t hold you in suspense. They do, and I have to say they’re a much more confident bunch this season than they were when I last saw them. Wonder how long that will last. With the addition of the character Jo Rosati, McNally’s love triangle has become something even more complicated and next week’s episode looks like it’s going to continue the trend of great summer entertainment. So then why aren’t you watching? And if you are, see you next week, same bat time, same bat channel.

A Note on McNally’s Triangle

Ok, question, you can see the sexual tension/chemistry between McNally and Swarek (Ben Bass) right? Just look at the way he cradles her face between his hands after she’s shot and you won’t have to have seen any of last season to see it. So ladies, which man would you choose? Detective Luke or Swarek? The gorgeous, loyal guy next door or the darkly handsome, slightly dangerous brooder who, unless you can reform him, is bound to break your heart? I think I’d pick Swarek. There’s a hint of sweetness and vulnerability about him and when you add that to the danger element, he’s downright irresistible. On the other hand, Detective Luke is sooo sweet; he’s totally making me rethink my choice. The way he looks at McNally when he finally sees her after she’s been shot, I’d kill to have a man look at me like that. I can see a lot of back and forth for McNally in the coming episodes, culminating in a really difficult choice. Always assuming they leave it up to her of course. I always love this alternative to the “will they won’t they” plot device because it’s often so much juicier and has so many places it can go.

 

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on June 24, 2011.

2 Responses to “Rookie Blue Starts Season #2”

  1. Thank you. I hope you’ll all keep visiting, commenting and enjoying the experience.

  2. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
