LIGHTBORN

I don’t get advance copies of the books I review. No one pays me for my opinions and I’m not an author who is sought out to say a few words on a book jacket. I guess that’s why I was asked why bother to publish these reviews when someone else has already been here first. My answer was simple: power. As readers we are the ones that create best sellers. It is because of us that an unknown/little known treasure is recognized for what it is. Because we read and tell people about what we read, the books we love continue to get published and noticed.

Lightborn, by Alison Sinclair is the second of a trilogy, the first being Darkborn (click here for my review) and the series will close with Shadowborn, which was released this month. The story is seamlessly picked up on the “other side of sunrise” with Floria White Hand, a Lightborn mage. I don’t want to spoil anything for you, but there is an assassination early on that really amps up the action. The aftermath demonstrates that the Lightborn court is fractious, complicated and that the least misstep could mean your life. It is also a place where the instability of their society will be tipped into chaos by the many plots of those hungry for all types of power. You can see that all this is coming, yet frustratingly, I found there to be a loss of momentum after the assassination of a major Lightborn personality and until about halfway through the book when things pick up again. Once the story picked up, I was ensorcelled in a way akin to the way I ripped through Darkborn and found that I was unable to stop until I finished the book. At the end (and I still don’t have a copy of Shadowborn to open) I found Sinclair neatly gathered all of the characters – except for Floria whom I assume will be en route once she realizes what is happening – to the place they need to be to finish the tale. (The Borders in case you’re wondering.) I expect that in Shadowborn we will at last see what these enemies of light and dark are. It is quite obvious that neither dark nor light can survive on their own, so it will be interesting to see how Sinclair weaves the two together to conquer their common foe, or if she allows the Shadowborn the victory.

I can recommend this book without reservation and look forward to the final resolution of the story.

Top 3 Things I Love About Alison Sinclair’s Writing

#1: She treats her audience as if we have brains. It seems a rarity that an author makes the assumption that the audience is intelligent rather than simply writing to the lowest common denominator. This is easily evident in her choice of words. How often do you see words like sybaritic or inchoate effortlessly woven into a story?

#2: Sinclair has a gift for descriptive scene-setting. When she paints her scenes, I have no trouble imagining what she is telling me. It just springs into my head fully formed.

#3: Her characters evoke reaction. They are 3D, flawed personalities that we either like or hate or admire. Take the character of Telmaine. She is sentenced to death – spoiler alert! – She escapes – but the execution order only evinced the barest amount of sadness in me. My dominant emotion was one of impatience against her inability to rise up against the societal norms which her being a mage already violated. I do hope that by the end of the series she has realized her potential even if she has not managed a complete uprising of the women of her side of sunset. I also found it short-sighted of the darkborn to order her execution rather than deciding to make use of her talents.

Click here to read what author Alison Sinclair had to say when I asked her a few questions.

That’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on June 13, 2011.

4 Responses to “LIGHTBORN”

  1. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors and theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

  3. Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

 
