The Interminable Wait

Niete! Gah! Now accompany that with some further inarticulate noises, foot stomping, hair pulling and rude hand gestures and you’ll get an idea of how I’m feeling right now. Cheated, frustrated and impatient come to mind though they pale in comparison to how I feel.

George RR Martin wrote (or really I should say is writing) this absolutely brilliant series of books: A Song of Ice and Fire. The books, in order are: A Game of Thrones (1996), A Clash of Kings (1998), A Storm of Swords (2000), A Feast for Crows (2005) and the upcoming A Dance with Dragons (July 2011). There are also two more planned books for the series. It’s actually not possible for me to rave enough about these books. You can be sure that I’ll be reviewing Dance when it’s out (would have done the others but this blog wasn’t active then. Although it’s been so long since the last one came out and I’m having such trouble waiting that it’s not out of the question for me to reread the entire series in anticipation, kind of like I did with Harry Potter. In which case I’ll review them for you.)

This series is extremely detailed. You must read them in proper order, preferably with one immediately following the other if you can. The series is epic in a scale that’s rarely seen anymore (although it’s more often seen in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre than in others). Martin, who has been active in both books and TV forever has won plenty of awards and in my opinion deserves each and every one of them. I am telling you that because he deserves all the kudos and praise we can heap on him just for this series alone. It’s his masterpiece (in my humble opinion). More than 15 years in the making (likely to be a quarter of a century before he’s finished) this series spans an entire world, generations and dozens upon dozens of exquisitely wrought characters. It is imaginative, frequently harsh and cruel, surprising, disturbing, emotional and always very difficult to put down.

Sidenote directly to George RR Martin: If you need a personal secretary to run your life while you write the further two books you’ve got planned, I nominate myself for the job. It would be well worth it if it meant getting the books even a single minute sooner.

You might be wondering why I’m writing about this now when I’m not reviewing any of the first four books (which again, I still might do) and Dance isn’t out for a few more months. Well it’s to complain about the additional torture that HBO has thrown on me. Their series A Game of Thrones, previewed last night and I don’t get HBO! (Too expense for my budget.) So here I’ve am spluttering because it’s one more reminder that I’m still prancing around on pins and needles, waiting – the interminable wait that all avid readers experience – always waiting for that next book to hit the shelf. Gah! While I don’t know if the series is any good, Sean Bean is playing Eddard Stark. The inestimable, many layered, wonderfully talented, who we often love to hate, Sean Bean. The part of Eddard is not long for the series, but it’s a pivotal character and I think he’s a great choice for the role. The TV series is just insult on top of injury wrapped in a nasty bully chanting “Neener, neener, neener”.

It needs to be July like now. For all those with HBO, enjoy and please, please take pity on me: Is it any good? Tell me it was crap. Lie of you have to.

That’s today’s frustrated 2¢.

~ by leslies2cents on April 18, 2011.

3 Responses to “The Interminable Wait”

  1. Useful stuff as per usual, thank you very much. I do hope this kind of thing gets more exposure.

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  3. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

 
