When a Book Disappoints

Picture this: You’re sit-on-the-edge-of-your-seat eager to go home at the end of the day, throw something into the oven (or better yet, call ahead and pick up takeout) and dive back into that great book you’ve been reading only to get there, pick up the book and realize that you finished that one and are now reading this one. The disappointment is absolutely crushing as you pick up the new book with a sigh and a distinct feeling of “meh” you flip it open.

Has that ever happened to you? I’m facing that right now. Here’s the problem though. Am I not liking this book simply because I don’t like it or is it because it’s not the story I was jonesing for all day? I’ve pushed through three chapters now and in two evenings worth of reading, that really isn’t very much. Even taking into account I always read slower when I’m not enjoying myself.

The book is Sword of Avalon and it’s part of Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Mists of Avalon collection. (Mists is actually one of my top ten books of all time and I highly recommend you read it if you have any interest in the Fantasy genre, feminism or Arthurian legend.) It’s the first book I’ve read that has been wholly without MZB’s influence (Paxton worked with her on a couple previously). At this point I can only conclude that it’s lacking. That’s the best way I can describe it. I’m heading back to bed now to slog through some more and I’ll keep you posted…I hate having to give up on a book but the trade off of never knowing how it ends is doing little to keep my flagging interest. I’ll keep you posted but for now, I’m withholding my stamp of approval.

There you have my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on April 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
