Ode to My eReader

I should first point out that I love to read and I love books. I always have. I’ve been known as a bookworm all my life and it’s a title I’ve never once regretted having bestowed on me. But loving to read and loving books are actually two different things in my lexicon. Loving a book means treating it with respect, which  means you don’t fold down pages or wreck the spine by folding it back way too far – incidentally the new easy to read format cuts down on unnecessary bending – or throwing it uncaring into a backpack or work bag. For someone whose big dreams in life include an old-fashioned private library with floor-to-ceiling bookshelves jammed to bursting with pristine, perfect books an eReader is a great alternative.

Do you commute to work? Do you hate reading files on the tiny screen of your Blackberry? Then like me, you’ve probably gone out and gotten yourself an eReader. And if you haven’t, why not? This is one piece of technology that even the tech-wary (like myself) should be able to appreciate. There are plenty of them out there, but mine happens to be an Aluratek given to me for my birthday last year. It’s not as fancy as some of the others but it does exactly what I need it to and the battery lasts a really long time. You can commute back and forth to work with it all week and you should only have to charge it if you sneak in some reading during your lunch breaks (which when it’s a good book, who can really blame you?). And here’s the best part: I don’t wreck my books! I still buy books at what some might find an alarming rate but I keep them for home and I carry around this eReader that has several thousand books on an SD card. I throw it into my bag (it’s got a protective case) and because it’s lighter than a book my overall load is lighter and if I finish the book partway through my commute one morning, it doesn’t matter because I can just select another. Have you ever had your bookmark fall out of the book? This will never happen with an eReader because they remember the page you’re on. You can even be reading several books at once. I mean really, how great is that? I can’t think of a single reason for anyone who likes to read (and has a computer) not to have one.

An eReader is great for work documents too. I don’t know what formats all of the different readers take, but I think they all take Adobe, and I know for sure that mine does, which means that if I have to read some files for work, I can load them onto the reader as Adobe files and it’s much easier on the eyes than my cell phone. Some of you might be saying why not just get an iPad? Well here’s the thing, I’m completely anti-Mac/Apple products. My personal experience with all Apple/Mac products and programs has been nothing one inconvenience after another. Even iTunes doesn’t work properly for me. The iPad isn’t light and in my opinion, for the weight, a netbook is a better buy. If I was going to go the tablet computer route I’d be picking something a little smaller because for me, the weight of my load is as important to  me as the uses for each of the things I carry around in my bag. So for my money and my purposes, an eReader is great.

On a side note, and to reveal my geekiness, I also think that it’s absolutely the height of cool that what was once a piece of Star Trek science-fiction (see the “pads” they read off of in Next Gen) is now a real tool that we use every day.

And that’s my 2¢ for today.

~ by leslies2cents on April 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
